Chef seeks farmer, farmer seeks chef

Who produces food, who needs it? Soil to Soul brings you together.

The Soil to Soul Producers-Arena, in collaboration with the Zurich office of Public History Food from Dominik Flammer, took place in Zurich for the second time as part of FOOD ZURICH. The well-known food scout and author skillfully moderated the afternoon at the Rüsterei.

During a brief panel discussion, three innovative and exemplary actors from both the gastronomy and production sides were introduced, showcasing how successful collaborations between different groups should look. Naturally, culinary, logistical, and cultural questions were also discussed. During the subsequent aperitif and informal speed dating between producers, chefs, farmers, and gastronomists, future contacts were established and current topics in agriculture and gastronomy were discussed.

The Producers-Arena once again highlighted the importance of such platforms for exchange and networking between regenerative producers and gastronomists.

Panel Participants: Producers in the Talk

  • Lorenzo Falcone

    PilzChef GmbH

    Lorenzo Falcone is a forester and since early 2021, the managing director and owner of PilzChef GmbH with its mushroom cultivation in Illnau-Effretikon. His passion lies in cultivating rare and noble mushrooms. His interest in this subject was sparked in his childhood when he was first confronted with a poisonous mushroom. His company specializes in the entire process chain, ranging from substrate production to genetic work in the laboratory. PilzChef currently supplies over 40 restaurants throughout Switzerland, with the largest customer base located in the Zurich area.
  • Stephan Müller

    Müller Steinmaur

    Stephan Müller, a trained vegetable gardener and horticultural engineer, is among the pioneers of organic vegetable farming in the Zurich area and beyond. As the operations manager and senior manager at Müller Family Farm in Steinmaur, he is a fervent developer of new ideas and cultivation methods. The family farm cultivates a wide range of vegetables and specialties, providing important positions for young people in integration work. In addition to their own farm shop, they also operate a subscription and online service.
  • Patrick Marxer

    Das Pure

    It all started many years ago on a cold winter night around Christmas time: Patrick Marxer was disappointed with the smoked salmon on offer. So he decided to smoke his own fish. Without further ado, he set up a tent in the middle of the forest, built a fire and smoked salmon all night. Since that evening, the trained laboratory technician has made it his mission to make good products even better. In 2009, he decided to start his own company. This is how "DasPure" was born - with the aim of bringing ecological delicacy to the market. Since 2012, DasPure AG's quarters and finishing plant have been in an old hosiery factory in Wetzikon in the Zurich Oberland. Here, Patrick Marxer and his 5 employees refine various foodstuffs and produce the delicious delicacies, which can also be bought directly on site.

Panel Participants: Hosts in the Talk

  • Inbar Zuckerberg

    La Salle

    Inbar Zuckerberg is one of Switzerland's most renowned culinary artists since many years. The chef, born in Israel with Swiss ancestry, has made a name for herself in the Swiss gastronomic scene as head chef at the former Goethestübli (also known as Kaisers Reblaube) and, in the last two and a half years, at La Salle in the Zurich Schiffbau, leaving an indelible mark. Inspired by Mediterranean and French cuisine, and drawing on the scents and memories of her childhood in the Orient, she has developed her own blend of Levantine and Swiss recipes, where one can clearly discern her love for the primal taste of the ingredients.
  • Mischa Käser

    Ristorante Italia

    Mischa Käser is one of the stalwarts among Zurich chefs, having led the kitchen crew at Restaurant Italia in District 4 for 21 years. The passionate snowboarder and father of two sons originally completed his cooking apprenticeship in a traditional restaurant before going on a journey and working intermittently as a bartender and in various other jobs. Since March 2003, he has been at Restaurant Italia, where he has been living his passion for top-quality products from the very beginning, knowing exactly where they come from and who produces them.
  • Sebastian Rösch

    Lindenhofkeller

    Sebastian Rösch has proven as the longtime head chef at Mesa on Weinbergstrasse what can be created with regional delicacies. Since 2023, he has been at the Lindenhofkeller in the heart of Zurich's Old Town, celebrating his profound product knowledge with undiminished curiosity. Producers who have something new and exciting to offer always find an open door with him. No wonder the gastronomy magazines celebrate him as a standard-bearer of the new Zurich cuisine.

Our Partners

Enabled by

Upcoming Producer Arenas

  • Bern

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUCER ARENA

    The Producer Arena is coming to Bern! Join us and discover the local food landscape of the region.

  • Zurich

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUCER ARENA

    Following the great success of last year's format, we're back again this year at the Karl der Grosse in Zurich.

Past Producer Arenas

  • Zurich 2024

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUCERS-ARENA

    As part of FOOD ZURICH, we organized a Producers-Arena in Zurich for the second time this June.

  • Lucerne 2024

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUCER ARENA

    At the first Luzern Soil-to-Soul Producer Arena at the SHL Swiss Hotel Management School Luzern, new connections were made and…

  • Zurich 2023

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUCER ARENA

    The first Soil to Soul Producer Arena took place on September 4, 2023, at Zurich's Karl der Grosse.

Koch sucht Bauer, Bäuerin sucht Köchin

Wer produziert Lebensmittel, wer hat Bedarf? Soil to Soul bringt euch zusammen.

Die Soil to Soul Produzenten-Arena in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Zürcher Büro Public History Food von Dominik Flammer fand im Rahmen von FOOD ZURICH zum zweiten Mal in Zürich statt. Der bekannte Foodscout und Buchautor führte als Moderator gekonnt durch den Nachmittag in der Rüsterei.

Im Rahmen eines kurzen Podiumtalks wurden je drei innovative und vorbildliche Akteur:innen von Seiten Gastronomie und Produktion vorgestellt und es wurde aufgezeigt, wie erfolgreiche Kooperationen zwischen den unterschiedlichen Gruppen aussehen sollten. Natürlich wurden dabei auch kulinarische, logistische und kulturelle Fragen diskutiert. Während dem anschliessenden Apero und lockeren Speed-Dating zwischen Produzenten, Köchen, Bäuerinnen und Gastronominnen wurden Kontakte für die Zukunft geknüpft und über aktuelle Themen in der Landwirtschaft und Gastronomie diskutiert.

Die Produzenten-Arena zeigte einmal mehr auf, wie wichtig solche Plattformen zum Austausch und zum vernetzen zwischen regenerativ arbeitenden Produzent:innen und Gastronom:innen sind.

Podiumsteilnehmende: Produzent:innen im Talk

  • Lorenzo Falcone

    PilzChef GmbH

    Lorenzo Falcone ist gelernter Forstwart und seit anfangs 2021 Geschäftsführer und Inhaber der PilzChef GmbH mit ihrer Pilzzucht in Illnau-Effretikon. Seine Leidenschaft liegt in der Zucht seltener und edler Pilze. Geweckt wurde sein Interesse für dieses Thema schon im Kindesalter, als er erstmals mit einem Giftpilz konfrontiert wurde. Sein Unternehmen ist auf die gesamte Prozesskette spezialisiert, angefangen von der Substratproduktion bis hin zur genetischen Arbeit im Labor. Mit über 40 Restaurants beliefert PilzChef derzeit die ganze Schweiz, wobei sich der grösste Kundenstamm im Raum Zürich befindet.
  • Stephan Müller

    Müller Steinmaur

    Stephan Müller gehört als gelernter Gemüsegärtner und Gartenbauingenieur zu den Vorreitern des Bio-Gemüsebaus im Raum Zürich und weit darüber hinaus. Als Betriebsleiter und als Seniorchef ist er im Familienbetrieb Müller in Steinmaur ein eifriger Entwickler neuer Ideen und neuer Anbaumethoden. Der Familienbetrieb baut ein breites Sortiment an Gemüsen und Spezialitäten an, bietet für die Integrationsarbeit wichtige Stellen für junge Menschen an und betreibt nebst einem eigenen Hofladen auch einen Abo- und einen Onlinedienst
  • Patrick Marxer

    Das Pure

    Patrick Marxer hat eine berufliche Karriere hinter sich, die sich sehen lässt: so wurde er vom Laboranten zum Sozialtherapeuten, bevor er den Weg zum außergewöhnlich kreativen Lebensmittelveredler eingeschlagen hat. Mittlerweile ist er Ansprechpartner für unzählige Gastronomen und Köchinnen. Mit seiner Firma „Das Pure“ ist Marxer nun schon seit 12 Jahren mit Herzblut unterwegs. Nebst Würsten, geräucherten Fischen und Fleischstücken sowie zahlreichen weiteren Spezialitäten bietet Marxer mittlerweile auch eine Vielzahl von Produkten an, die er mittels asiatischer Fermentationstechniken herstellt. Und zwar ausschliesslich mit Bio-Rohstoffen aus der Schweiz.

Podiumsteilnehmende: Gastgeber:innen im Talk

  • Inbar Zuckerberg

    La Salle

    Inbar Zuckerberg gehört seit vielen Jahren zu den bekanntesten Kochkünstlerinnen der Schweiz. Die in Israel geborene Köchin mit Schweizer Vorfahren hat sich hierzulande als Chefköchin im ehemaligen Goethestübli (auch: Kaisers Reblaube) und in den letzten zweieinhalb Jahren im La Salle im Zürcher Schiffbau einen aus der Zürcher Gastroszene nicht mehr wegzudenkenden Namen gemacht. Inspiriert von der mediterranen wie auch von der französischen Küche, mit Anlehnung an die orientalischen Düfte und Erinnerungen ihrer Kindheit hat sie die ihr eigene Mischung aus levantinischen und schweizerischen Rezepten entwickelt, denen man die Liebe zum Urgeschmack der Produkte mehr als anmerkt.
  • Mischa Käser

    Ristorante Italia

    Mischa Käser gehört zu den Urgesteinen unter den Zürcher Köchen, leitet er doch die Küchencrew im Restaurant Italia im Kreis 4 seit 21 Jahren. Der leidenschaftliche Snowboarder und Vater zweier Söhne hat ursprünglich eine Kochlehre in einem gutbürgerlichen Restaurant absolviert, bevor er auf Wanderschaft gegangen ist und zwischendurch auch mal als Barkeeper und in diversen anderen Jobs gearbeitet hat. Seit März 2003 ist er im Italia, wo er seit Beginn seine Leidenschaft für erstklassige Produkte lebt, von denen er auch weiss, woher sie kommen und wer sie herstellt.
  • Sebastian Rösch

    Lindenhofkeller

    Sebastian Rösch hat als langjähriger Küchenchef im Mesa an der Weinbergstrasse bewiesen, was sich mit regionalen Delikatessen alles kreieren lässt. Seit 2023 steht er im Lindenhofkeller mitten in der Zürcher Altstadt am Herd und zelebriert hier seine profunden Produktekenntnisse mit einer nicht nachlassenden Neugier. Produzentinnen und Produzenten, die etwas Neues und Spannendes zu bieten haben, finden bei ihm immer eine offene Türe. Kein Wunder, feiern ihn die Gastromagazine als Bannerträger der neuen Zürcher Küche.

Unsere Partner

Ermöglicht durch

Bevorstehende Produzenten-Arenen

  • Bern

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUZENTEN-ARENA

    Die Produzenten-Arena kommt nach Bern! Seid dabei und entdeckt die Lebensmittellandschaft der Region.

  • Zürich

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUZENTEN-ARENA

    Nach dem Grossen Erfolg des letztjährigen Formates auch dieses Jahr im Karl der Grosse in Zürich.

Vergangene Produzenten-Arenen

  • Zürich 2024

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUZENTEN-ARENA

    Im Rahmen von FOOD ZURICH haben wir im Juni bereits zum zweiten Mal in Zürich eine Produzenten-Arena veranstaltet.

  • Luzern 2024

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUZENTEN-ARENA

    An der ersten Luzerner Soil-to-Soul Produzenten-Arena in der SHL Schweizerischen Hotelfachschule Luzern wurden neue Kontakte geknüpft und sich aktiv ausgetauscht.

  • Zürich 2023

    SOIL TO SOUL PRODUZENTEN-ARENA

    Die erste Soil to Soul Produzenten Arena fand am 4. September 2023 in Zürichs Karl der Grosse statt.

Kontakte auch ausserhalb der Arena

Um den Austausch zwischen lokalen Gastronom:innen und Produzent:innen auch vor und nach der Produzenten-Arena zu fördern, haben wir eine Plattform für Kontakte ins Leben gerufen. Hier können Produzent:innen ihre Produkte anbieten und Gastronom:innen nach regionalen Produkten suchen.

Mehr Informationen